Live CD and video of Niibori guitar orchestra concert '98 that was held in Yokohama Minato Mirai Hall on September 15, 1998 have been released.

Niibori Guitar Orchestra's traditional repertory 'Geschichte aus dem Wiener Wald' was recorded in CD for the first time. A brand new sound with the flute and the cello must be very interesting also for the people who have listened to the number before. 'An der schonen blauen Donau' that was played for the first time was included in the video tape. Both CD and video are historic and memorable ones.

Then, we introduce numbers that were included in CD here. (Numbers with no player's name are all played by Niibori Guitar Orchestra)

* NRM14-01 '98 (H. Niibori) / Conductor: Tomonori Hayashi

This is the first number used NRM (Niibori Rhythm Method) and it was premiered in 1989. '14-01' means that this is the first (01) number played by 14 kinds of instruments. In '98 version, Japanese drums were joined to the guitar orchestra and the splendid arrangement was suitable as the opening number. Tomonori Hayashi made his debut as a regular conductor of the Niibori Guitar Orchestra by this number.

* TINSAGUNU-HANA (Okinawa's Folk Song, arr. Kengo Momose) / Conductor: Kyoko Momose

They say that the Japanese consists of a single race, but long time ago, Okinawa was 'Ryukyu Kingdom' and had a different culture from the main island of Japan. 'Tinsagunu-hana' means a garden balsam in Ryukyu language, and people in the kingdom had a customary to dye their nails red with the sap of the flowers. This folk song has a meaning that 'Like the flowers dye nails, dye people's hearts with the teachings of parents'. In this number, two other Okinawa's folk songs are included. One is 'Kachashi' that makes full use of NRM, and another is 'Tancha-me' that celebrates a large haul. Okinawa's folk musical instrument 'Sanshin' and their chant create a unique atmosphere. Arranger is Kengo Momose who is a famous electrical guitar player and the conductor Kyoko Momose's husband. Kyoko Momose made her debut as a regular conductor of the Niibori Guitar Orchestra by this number. Her elegant but sharp conduct was applauded in the concert.

* PREALUDIUM from Partita BWV825 (J.S.Bach, arr. H.Niibori) / Double Prime Cembalo Guitar Solo: Kohiro Sasozaki

Kohiro Sasozaki is a great player of the double prime cembalo guitar. As the arranger Hiroki Niibori added lots of ornaments and changed the rhythm, he was puzzled at first, but the unique arrangement achieved great success in the dignified hall.

* CONCERTO FOR FLUTE NO.2 IN F-MAJOR K.314 (W.A.Mozart, Niibori Guitar Ensemble Version) / Conductor: Kiyoshi Koyama

The first movement was played in the 'China-Japan Goodwill Concert' held in China in 1992. At that time, a Chinese famous bamboo flutist Mr. Ye Hong-Qi joined the ensemble and played the flute part. But this time, a famous Japanese flutist Ms. Chie Nagasaki joined the Ensemble, and played all the movements. Each movement was played with high technique and brilliant musical sense. The ensemble and the flutist fully drew out each other's attractions.

* THE FIRST MOVEMENT FROM CONCERTO FOR PIANO NO.17 IN G-MAJOR K.453 (W.A.Mozart, arr. Akiko Kawaguchi) / Conductor: Kiyoshi Koyama

Niibori Method enabled joint performance by a guitar orchestra consisted of a variety of guitars and the piano. Pianist Akiko Kawaguchi is a graduate of Niibori Guitar Music Academy (Joetsu campus) and learned about the guitar orchestra too. That is one of the reasons of the perfect unison.

* ANNEN POLKA (J.Strauss… , arr. H.Niibori)
* PIZZICATO POLKA (Josef & J.Strauss… , arr. S.Kikuchi & H.Niibori) / Niibori Guitar Ensemble, Conductor: H. Niibori

Strauss composed not only waltz but humorous polka based on the common people's daily life. Such polkas were popular repertories of the Niibori Guitar Orchestra in 70's. It is commonly said that Japanese is not good at playing pleasant music, but perfect harmony of the conductor and the orchestra could fully show very pleasant atmosphere. Please enjoy fine reverberations of the hall too.

* Geschichte aus dem Wiener Wald '98 (J.Strauss… , arr. H.Niibori) / Niibori Guitar Grand Orchestra, Conductor: H.Niibori

This number was first played in 1969 as a new possibility for the guitar orchestra, and had been played in Christmas concert every year more than 10 years after that. This is the first time to record this number. In '98 version, the flute and the cello were added to the orchestra, and the zither part was played by the the Portuguese guitar and the double alto cembalo guitar. Formation that placed the bass register instruments such as the guitarron into the center of the orchestra is also an interesting point of this years version.

* RADETZKY-MARSCH (J.Strauss… , arr. H.Niibori) / Niibori Guitar Grand Orchestra, Conductor: H.Niibori

This number was played as an encore. The audience's clapping sound conveys the pleasant atmosphere in the hall. This is a very cheerful number encourages people who listen to.

The live video includes 'An der schonen blauen Donau' and 'Tritsch Tratsch' (J.Strauss… ).

CD <74min> \2,800 (ex-tax)
Video Tape <100min> \5,500 (ex-tax)

For questions, advice & requests about Monthly Harmony,

Niibori Guitar Music Academy, Editorial Office

143-14 Fujisawa, Fujisawa-shi, Kanagawa-ken,
251-0052 Japan
Phone: +81-466-23-8338 / Fax: +81-466-23-9337

Back to "Special Topics"

Back to "Harmony" index page